Giving Thanks

It’s time to tell you all how grateful I am, so here we go. To my family I give thanks for loving me unconditionally and providing support in so many ways. I am the luckiest daughter, sister, mother in the world. To the friends who’ve known me since high school, I’m so grateful that you’re still in my life. Impossible to put anything over on you guys, and that’s good for keeping the ego in check. I’ve made some wonderful friends in publishing whose dedication to that world and whose sense of fun sustain me on long work days. A special shout out to my university press colleagues across the country. I love you all, I really do. To my friends in the Down syndrome community, I couldn’t imagine another community I’d rather be a part of. Our shared joys and challenges have made us so close. For friends close enough to drop in for tea and for those at the other end of my computer I am grateful. Thank you for sharing your life with me.

I’m also thankful for my job at the university, which pays me a decent wage and waives fees for my children’s education. And thankful for my union for negotiating those and other benefits for me. Thankful for friends who mentored me in my early years in publishing and taught me skills I can use to freelance, ensuring that I can continue to meet not just the needs of my family but some of our wants as well. To those who value my work and encourage others to hire me, I am grateful.

Much love to all and Happy Thanksgiving.

