Mom #fail, Russ #win

He told me there was a PA day on Friday and therefore no school. But I didn’t believe him because the Friday before had been a PA day. There have never been 2 in 2 weeks. But I didn’t check because I knew I was right.

Friday morning Russell got up and went out the door to school. 45 minutes later I left for work. Later in the day this was the conversation that was had:

Russ: Oh by the way, Mom, you lied.

Me: About what?

Russ: School. It WAS a PA day.

Me: But you went to school on the bus, right? Why would the bus pick you up if there was no school?

Russ: I don’t know. There was no kids at my school.

Me: So what did you do?

Russ: I came home.

Me: On the city bus? And did you go to work in the afternoon?

Russ: Yeah, I took the 25.

Me: You’re awesome.

I did apologize for being wrong about school. And, as it turns out, he walked to school when the bus didn’t turn up. It’s a couple of miles. When I heard that, I said, “Oh, you must have been really mad at me.” “Yes,” he said. “I was.” But we were able to have a laugh about it and I told him I was really impressed by how he not only problem-solved about getting home, but got himself to work later. What a kid.